What is the difference between “vegetarian” and “vegan”?

A vegetarian does not eat the flesh or skin of other beings.  However, they may eat the milk and/or eggs of other beings. Vegetarians who drink the milk of other beings are lacto-vegetarians.  Vegetarians who eat the eggs of other beings are ovo-vegetarians. There are some vegetarians who do not eat the skin or flesh of other beings except fish.  These individuals are pesco-vegetarians. There are also vegetarians who engage in a combination of these eating habits.

A vegan does not eat, wear or use any part of other beings.  Therefore, vegans do not eat, wear or use anything made of other beings’ skin, hair, milk or eggs (or any byproducts of other beings).

You Might Also Like


  1. Angela

    Thank you for giving concise definitions. I eat a vegan diet. This will be a handy site to help my friends and family understand what a vegan diet is. They can also see how much good food we eat and see that I still get to eat a lot of the same kinds of food I ate before changing to a vegan diet

    1. admin

      You’re welcome! We’re happy the posts are useful to you. Yes, being vegan involves eating A LOT of yummy food! 😀

  2. Twicsy

    Excellent post. I will be facing some of these issues as well..

    1. admin

      Hi Twicsy!
      Thank you! VEGANavigate is here to help you along the way 🙂

Leave a Reply