What is the difference between “vegetarian” and “vegan”?
A vegetarian does not eat the flesh or skin of other beings. However, they may eat the milk and/or eggs of other beings. Vegetarians who drink the milk of other beings are lacto-vegetarians. Vegetarians who eat the eggs of other beings are ovo-vegetarians. There are some vegetarians who do not eat the skin or flesh of other beings except fish. These individuals are pesco-vegetarians. There are also vegetarians who engage in a combination of these eating habits.
A vegan does not eat, wear or use any part of other beings. Therefore, vegans do not eat, wear or use anything made of other beings’ skin, hair, milk or eggs (or any byproducts of other beings).